“Perks”, “Moonrise” clean house at 19th annual Chlotrudis Awards

press-chlotrudisBoston’s Chlotrudis Society for Independent Film held it’s 19th annual awards ceremony at the Brattle Theatre in Cambridge this season.  The film society, which boasts members from all over the United States, gives out it’s awards each year in mid-March.

The coming of age comedy/drama “The Perks Of Being A Wallflower” took home top honors for the evening, winning Best Movie, Best Adapted Screenplay, and Best Supporting Actor for Ezra Miller. But the quirky Wes Anderson comedy “Moonrise Kingdom” was hot as well, taking  the awards for Best Original Screenplay (tied with “Take This Waltz“), Best Ensemble Cast, and Best Director.

The organization’s signature award, the Buried Treasure, for films that earn less than $250,000 during their initial release, went to the Hong Kong drama “A Simple Life“.  It beat out one of the strongest lineups for Buried Treasure in recent memory, with critically acclaimed films  “Alps”, “Beauty Is Embarrassing”, “Breathing”, “Oslo August 31st” , and “Sound Of Noise” having to settle for being nominated for the group’s prestigious award.

Actor Christopher Abbott was this year’s special guest, on hand to collect the “Chlotrudis Breakout Star” award for his recent work.

Anyone can become a member of the society – find out more information at http://chlotrudis.org, and watch for a special Subject:CINEMA all about the organization in April as the podcast salutes Boston in Film all month long.

The complete winners list:

Best Supporting Actress: Amy Adams, “The Master”

Best Adapted Screenplay: Steven Chbosky, “The Perks of Being A Wallflower”

Best Production Design: “Beasts Of The Southern Wild”

Best Actor: John Hawkes, “The Sessions”

Best Cinematography: “The Master”

Best Supporting Actor: Ezra Miller, “The Perks of Being A Wallflower”

Best Documentary: “How To Survive A Plague”

Best Original Screenplay (TIE): Wes Anderson and Roman Coppola, “Moonrise Kingdom’ and Sarah Polley, “Take This Waltz”

Best Performance by an Ensemble Cast: “Moonrise Kingdom”

Best Actress: Olivia Colman, “Tyrannosaur”

Best Director: Wes Anderson, “Moonrise Kingdom”

Best Movie: “The Perks Of Being A Wallflower”

Buried Treasure: “A Simple Life”

Chlotrudis “Breakout” Award: Christopher Abbott

Chlotrudis “Cat’s Meow” award to an individual or organization active in the local film scene:  The Provincetown International Film Festival and organizers