“Beasts” tops nominees for the 19th annual Chlotrudis awards


Boston MA – Nominations for the 19th annual Chlotrudis Awards were finalized by the film group’s nominating committee over this past weekend, and announced at a reception held at Post 390 in Boston’s Back Bay.  At the top of the heap, collecting Best Film, Director and Actress nods among its 7 nominations was the apocalyptic Louisiana folk story, BEASTS OF THE SOUTHERN WILD.

Three other films received 4 or more nominations, including fellow Best Movie nominee MOONRISE KINGDOM, director Wes Anderson’s latest, as well as the coming of age film THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER, with Best Supporting Actor nominee Ezra Miller, and the biopic THE SESSIONS, starring John Hawkes and Helen Hunt, both nominated for Best Actor andActress, respectively.   A dozen more films received multiple nominations, among them BULLHEAD, THE MASTER, TYRANNOSAUR, and SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK.

In all, 35 films received nominations; and 19 countries were represented.
While US films made up almost half of the nominations, with 48% of the total, both the Best Film and Buried Treasure categories were international in flavor, with only one US nominee featured in each.  The Best Documentary category was dominated by women; all but one of the nominees had female directors, among them DETROPIA and THE QUEEN OF VERSAILLES.

In the Society’s most prestigious category, the Buried Treasure, the final nominees were  Greece’s ALPS, from previous Buried Treasure nominee Yorgos Lanthimos; the Wayne White documentary  BEAUTY IS EMBARRASSING; BREATHING, an Austrian drama about a young ex-con;  Norwegian director Joachim Trier’s latest, OSLO AUGUST 31ST; A SIMPLE LIFE, from legendary Hong Kong director Ann Hui; and the raucous Swedish comedy, SOUND OF NOISE.

The Buried Treasure is the only category with eligibility requirements:
nominated films must have earned less than $250,000 in its U.S. theatrical run, and members can submit only 1 film they feel strongly was given distributional short shrift and deserve a wider audience.  Once the final ballot is set, all members voting in the category must verify that they have watched all (or 5 of 6) of the nominated films.

The Chlotrudis Society for Independent Film highlights its commitment to independent and foreign film in style, holding its CHLOTRUDIS AWARDS ceremony in early spring.  This latest edition will be held Sunday March 17th at the historic Brattle Theatre, and the public is invited to join Chlotrudis members, nominees and special guests in the celebration.

At the ceremony, Chlotrudis also presents special awards that honor individuals or films for particular distinction.  Past recipients Ellen Page (Breakthrough Award ‘05), Kerry Washington (Breakthrough Award ‘04), Beth Grant (Career So Far Award ‘09) and Philip Seymour Hoffman (first Hall of Fame inductee) are among those who have made the trek to Boston to be honored for their contributions to independent film.   This year’s
recipients are still being finalized at press time.
The Chlotrudis Society for Independent Film is a Boston-based non-profit group that teaches people to view film actively and experience the world through independent film, and encourages discussion.  The group works with film festivals, local art-houses and theatres, production companies, directors and actors to bring creative, quality films to the attention of audiences and film-lovers.   Visit its website, www.chlotrudis.org, for
more information, and join its Facebook page and twitter feed for the latest news.  Here is the complete list of the nominations for the 19th Annual Chlotrudis Awards:

Beasts of the Southern Wild
Monsieur Lazhar
The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Beauty Is Embarrassing
Oslo August 31st
A Simple Life
Sound of Noise

Benh Zeitlin – Beasts of the Southern Wild
Michael R. Roskam – Bullhead
Hirokazu Koreeda – I Wish
Wes Anderson – Moonrise Kingdom
Jacques Audiard – Rust and Bone
Sarah Polley – Take This Waltz

Matthias Schoenaerts – Bullhead
Denis Lavant – Holy Motors
Frank Langella – Robot and Frank
Matthias Schoenaerts – Rust and Bone
John Hawkes – The Sessions
Peter Mullan – Tyrannosaur

Quvenzhane Wallis – Beasts of the Southern Wild
Marion Cotillard – Rust and Bone
Aubrey Plaza – Safety Not Guaranteed
Helen Hunt – The Sessions
Olivia Colman – Tyrannosaur

Isaac Leyva – Any Day Now
Dwight Henry– Beasts of the Southern Wild
Matthew McConaughey – Bernie
Philip Seymour Hoffman – The Master
Ezra Miller – The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Edith Scob – Holy Motors
Amy Adams – The Master
Moon Bloodgood – The Sessions
Jacki Weaver – Silver Linings Playbook
Rosemarie DeWitt – Your Sister’s Sister

Killer Joe
Moonrise Kingdom
Once Upon a Time in Anatolia
The Perks of Being a Wallflower
A Royal Affair
Silver Linings Playbook

Sarah Greenwood – Anna Karenina
Alex DiGerlando – Beasts of the Southern Wild
Florian Sanson – Holy Motors
Ricardo Alms – Keyhole
Adam Stockhausen – Moonrise Kingdom

Ben Richardson – Beasts of the Southern Wild Sung
Fai Choi – Flying Swords of Dragon Gate
Mihai Malaimare Jr. – The Master
Robert D. Yeoman – Moonrise Kingdom
Gokhan Tiryaki – Once Upon a Time in Anatolia

Beasts of the Southern Wild
Killer Joe
The Perks of Being a Wallflower
The Sessions
Silver Lining Playbook

I Wish
Moonrise Kingdom
Robot and Frank
Safety Not Guaranteed
Take This Waltz

The Central Park 5
First Position
How To Survive a Plague
The Queen of Versailles