“Winters Bone” takes Best Picture at 17th annual Chlotrudis Awards

The 17th annual Chlotrudis awards, affectionately known as the “Trudy”, were handed out on Sunday evening, March 20th,  at the Brattle Theatre in Cambridge. Chlotrudis founder and president Michael Colford and the Brattle Theatre’s Ivy Moylan hosted the event, which featured presenters from many of the Boston-based film organizations, with partipation from a number of the film society’s members (including yours truly and my other half, Kim Brown).

Debra Granik‘s “Winter’s Bone” took honors for best picture, and also won best adapted screenplay and best director for Granik as well, along with the award for best cinematography.

The “Career So Far” award this year, which honors a particular performer, went to actor/director/producer Larry Fessenden, and the Cat’s Meow award, presented to a variety of people over the years for their work with Chlotrudis, went to Boston Phoenix film critic Gerald Peary and his wife, producer Amy Geller – both have been staunch supporters of the Chlotrudis Society for Independent Film for many years. The husband and wife team produced the popular documentary “For The Love Of Movies: A History Of American Film Criticism” in 2009.

The organization’s prestigious Buried Treasure award was given to festival favorite  “Dogtooth”. The award recognizes a smaller film with very little distribution that the members of the organization believe deserve a much larger audience.

The full list of winners:

Best Movie – Winter’s Bone
Buried Treasure – Dogtooth
Best Documentary – Marwencol
Best Director – Debra Granik for Winter’s Bone
Best Actress – Hye-ja Kim for Mother
Best Actor – (TIE) Ryan Gosling for Blue Valentine and Philip Seymour Hoffman
for Jack Goes Boating
Best Supporting Actress – Jacki Weaver for Animal Kingdom
Best Supporting Actor – Geoffrey Rush for The King’s Speech
Best Original Screenplay – Mother, screenplay by Eun-kyo Park and Joon-ho Bong
Best Adapted Screenplay – Winter’s Bone, screenplay by Debra Granik and Anne
Best Cinematography – Michael McDonough for Winter’s Bone
Best Production Design – I Am Love
Best Performance by an Ensemble Cast – The Kids Are All Right

As always, the awards ceremony was full of humorous potshots at mainstream Hollywood, some of which hit the mark and some of which did not. Chlotrudis member Scot Colford as usual turned in a rousing musical number to open the show; this year, to explain the Buried Treasure nominating process, Scot somehow managed to adapt Rent’s La Vie Boheme with style and humor.

Unlike most boring awards, the Chlotrudis Society always manages to put on a fun and lively show which the Boston film community always enjoys and this year was no exception.