Chlotrudis Awards handed out at Brattle Theater

The Boston-based Chlotrudis Society For Independent Film held it's 15th annual Chlotrudis Awards ceremony last night at Cambridge's Brattle Theater. A mix of local personalities were on hand to help present the awards.

Expected special guest, Danish actress Paprika Steen, was unable to attend due to illness, but everyone still had a great time.  Kim and I were happy to be a part of the ceremonies, introducing Sonya Larson from creative writing center Grub Street, who presented the Best original Screenplay award.

One thing about these awards, nicknamed "The Trudy" for a cat that at one time belonged to Chlotrudis president and founder Michael Colford, is that over the years, winners tend to be foreign-made films, and Canada has been a favorite film producer, winning a number of awards over the years. This year was no exception as the German film The Edge Of Heaven captured Best Picture.

The complete list of winners:

Best Short Film: Well-Founded Concerns

Best Short Film Runner Up: Parallel Adele

Audience Award: Gaining Ground (Land Gewinnen)

Audience Award Runner Up: Mind the Gap

Best Ensemble Cast: Monkey Warfare

Best Cinematography: Hoyte Van Hoytema,  Let the Right One In

Best Adapted Screenplay: John Ajvide Lindqvist, Let the Right One In

Best Original Screenplay: Cristian Mungiu, 4 Months, 3 Weeks, 2 Days

Best Supporting Actor: Eddie Marsan, Happy-Go-Lucky

Best Supporting Actress: Elsa Zylberstein,  I've Loved You So Long

Best Actor: Richard Jenkins, The Visitor

Best Actress: Kristin Scott Thomas, I've Loved You So Long

Best Director: (TIE) Mike Leigh, Happy-Go-Lucky; Guy Maddin, My Winnipeg

Best Documentary: Man On Wire

Best Movie: The Edge of Heaven

Buried Treasure: The Order of Myths

For more information on the Chlotrudis Society For Independent Film, visit